Kamma and Vipaka?

Just before I left my house for my trekking appointment, my friend called me to bring along a pen and a piece of paper.

“Why?  What happened?”  I asked
She replied, “I knocked someone’s car and the owner is not here.  Thought I leave a note to the owner.”

When I saw her later, I casually commented with a smile:
“You know?  Many people would have just hit and run a stationary car.”

“No lah!  I feel better leaving a note for the person to contact me.  Must be responsible of my actions mah.”

That’s good kamma friend, that is good kamma!

Kamma simply means actions in the Pali language and in Buddhism, we believe in Kamma and Vipaka ~ Actions and Fruits (of the actions).  Actions which are either mental, verbal or physical.

The Samyutta Nikaya states:

“According to the seed that’s sown,
So is the fruit you reap there from,
Doer of good will gather good,
Doer of evil, evil reaps,
Down is the seed and thou shalt taste
The fruit thereof.”

Kamma is such a wide and deep topic in Buddhism that I may not be able to simplify it just in one blog post.

However, you may want to know the answers to the following questions, to begin with:
“Master Gotama, what is the reason, what is the condition, why inferiority and superiority are met with among human beings, among mankind?
For one meets with short-lived and long-lived people,
sick and healthy people,
ugly and beautiful people,
insignificant and influential people,
poor and rich people,
low-born and high-born people,
stupid and wise people.
What is the reason, what is the condition, why superiority and inferiority are met with among human beings, among mankind?”
(Click here to read the answers: Cula-kammavibhanga Sutta: The Shorter Exposition of Kamma)

By understanding why we are presently such, we will understanding what we should do to be what we think we want to be later.

Just like the recent advice I gave to my niece:
“If you want to grow old gracefully with less sickness, start taking care of your health, diet and daily routine now.  If you want your children to take care of you, show them how you treat your elders now.  What you do now reflects your tomorrow and what you are today was how you were yesterday…”

Don’t “thank God” when good things happen and say “what to do, it is my kamma” when unfortunate things happen ya… just remember Vipaka is due to your Kamma..
(^.^)

2 thoughts on “Kamma and Vipaka?

  1. Pingback: Why Be a Human Being? | Scent of the Dhamma

  2. Pingback: Kamma ~ the 4 wives story.. | Scent of the Dhamma

Leave a Reply

