“Sadhu” is not “thank you”??

When I first stepped onto the Dhamma path, I was totally ignorant about Buddhism and words that were spoken or used.

The word “Sadhu” was so commonly used that I thought it meant “thank you”, so I “Sadhu” to everyone and anyone that I was thankful to…. until one day, someone told me that it means “Excellent”.
Huh?  Ya kah?  Ohhhhh… so embarrassing…..  

Today, when I hear people using this word as often as I had before, I am really tempted to ask if they know the meaning of the word but in the Abhaya Sutta, Buddha says:
“…..
[1] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be unfactual, untrue, unbeneficial (or: not connected with the goal), unendearing & disagreeable to others, he does not say them.

[2] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, unbeneficial, unendearing & disagreeable to others, he does not say them.
[3] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, beneficial, but unendearing & disagreeable to others, he has a sense of the proper time for saying them.
[4] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be unfactual, untrue, unbeneficial, but endearing & agreeable to others, he does not say them.
[5] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, unbeneficial, but endearing & agreeable to others, he does not say them.
[6] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, beneficial, and endearing & agreeable to others, he has a sense of the proper time for saying them. ……”

Since I am not wise enough to know the right time and condition to say, I choose to share it here.

Hence, if you do not know it before, you know it now ya….  

Sadhu, Sadhu, Sadhu!
    

Leave a Reply

