CNY around the corner?

CNY is around the corner.

While everyone is busy getting ready for the festival, I am still going through my daily life as usual.

When everyone was sending out the 2016 Happy New Year messages, someone sent this to me:
“Don’t be too excited about this New Year stuff
Only the calendar has changed 
The spouse, job and targets remains the same”
LOL!  How true, how true!  

I used to be very excited about my birthday so much so that I will remind everyone near and dear about it and I will have my birthday celebration appointments queuing for at least 2 weeks!

Then one time, my mother said this:
“Why must I get excited about your birthday?  I was in labour pain on that day!”
LOL!  Ya hor, ya hor!!  

Anyway, I stopped celebrating my birthday since 2013!  After learning the Dhamma, I realised that the day one is born, one’s sufferings begin…

As stated in the Upajjhatthana Sutta:
“…. ‘I am subject to aging, have not gone beyond aging.’ This is the first fact that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.
‘I am subject to illness, have not gone beyond illness.’ …
‘I am subject to death, have not gone beyond death.’ …”
(Do click at the Sutta to read the full Sutta…. lots of wisdom in it!)   

Since new years are just a change in the calendar and birthdays are when sufferings begin, I guess the only day worth celebrating (especially to the Buddhists) will be the Vesākha Day; the day Buddha was born, the day Buddha was enlightened and the day Buddha entered Nibbana… yes, all happened on the same day of a different year  

Hmmm… are you still excited about celebrating “special” dates??

Leave a Reply

