How “not” to kill?

Lay followers of the Buddha’s teachings are encouraged to keep the five precepts.

They are, in English and Pali language, as below:

1. I undertake the training rule to abstain from killing. Pāṇātipātā veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi.
2. I undertake the training rule to abstain from taking what is not given. Adinnādānā veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi.
3. I undertake the training rule to avoid sexual misconduct. Kāmesumicchācāra veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi.
4. I undertake the training rule to abstain from false speech. Musāvādā veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi.
5. I undertake the training rule to abstain from fermented drink that causes heedlessness. Surāmerayamajjapamādaṭṭhānā veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi

Recently I find that they are not easy to practise, especially the first precept.

Just last night, on my way out of the kitchen, I saw something on the floor.  I thought it was an awkward rolled up ball of dust.  Hence, I gently kicked it and it unrolled to a dead (not long ago) lizard!

Huh?  When did I kill it?????  Now, how many times I told you lizards not to walk on the floor!  You should just keep to the ceilings and the walls lah!  Isssskkkhhhh!!!  

Maybe I should say sorry to it instead hor….  

A few days ago, I decided to be cruel to be kind…. instead of feeding the ants (out of compassion) with the open lid rubbish container at the sink, I close the lid at all times now.  Why?  Coz the ants refused to get out when I needed to throw the rubbish!  They didn’t understand Cantonese or English…. haizzzzz… and I will end up tying a knot with some of them still in the bag.  

And last week, while doing some reading at my sofa, I caught a glimpse of a tiny (scared looking) rat trying to walk into the house!  Really one!  It had a blur frown on the face and its front legs up like hands balancing on a tip toe…

I quickly shouted “No!  NO!  NOOO!” and chased it out!  That alerted my dog and after a few minutes or so, I heard it shrieked and I knew my dog had killed it.      

I consoled myself:
…. if you had tip toed to the back of the sofa, I would not have seen you…
…. maybe it is your kamma to end this way….
Sob!  

You know, I am very tempted to borrow from the Taiping Insight Meditation Society‘s message and stick one at each entrance    ….  Think if it actually works???  
IMAG1345

Still…. whatever had happened, I will still undertake the training rule to abstain from doing what I should not do!  I shall continue to keep the Five Precepts!

Gambate, Linda!
    

Leave a Reply

