Birthdays

Recently there were many birthday celebrations and of course, that simply means more dinners to celebrate the special day for and with the birthday boys and gals. 

Last Friday, during Brother Tan’s talk at BMV, he said he was touched when his students chose to observe 8 precepts on his birthday and then transfer merits to him… I think that was awesome!  In fact, it is an wholesome act for the birthday boy and/ girl to observe 8 precepts on the day.  

Having said that, I have stopped celebrating my birthday since I touched 50 coz I became a Buddhist scholar then to understand that sufferings began from that day!  Hence, to me, it is not a date for celebrations! 

Though I may not want to celebrate the day, I cannot stop my friends from wanting to celebrate it with / for me though… still feel thankful ya … 

I do not know how I would spend my birth date this year… when the day come, I shall know… till then, I shall practise to live in the moment…. 

Leave a Reply

