Practical use: Sattatthana Sutta(SN22.57)

This morning I woke up feeling a little “down”.  After doing all that I should, I sat down and analyse my feelings… “Why, Linda, are you feeling sad?”

You know?  The moment you can recognise your feeling and investigate it, the feeling is gone!  Coz you did not allow it to linger…

Buddha, in the Sattatthana Sutta (SN22.57), said:
“Monks, a monk who is skilled in seven bases and has three modes of investigation is fulfilled & fully accomplished in this doctrine & discipline — the ultimate person.

“And how is a monk skilled in seven bases?
There is the case where a monk
(1) discerns form,
(2) the origination of form,
(3) the cessation of form,
(4) the path of practice leading to the cessation of form.
He discerns
(5) the allure of form,
(6) the drawback of form, and
(7) the escape from form.

Example of the seven bases ~ using one of the 5 aggregates:
“(1) And what is form? The four great existents [the earth property, the liquid property, the fire property, & the wind property] and the form derived from them: this is called form.
(2) From the origination of nutriment comes the origination of form.
(3) From the cessation of nutriment comes the cessation of form.
(4) And just this noble eightfold path is the path of practice leading to the cessation of form, i.e., right view, right resolve, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration.
(5) The fact that pleasure & happiness arises in dependence on form: that is the allure of form.
(6) The fact that form is inconstant, stressful, subject to change: that is the drawback of form.
(7) The subduing of desire & passion for form, the abandoning of desire & passion for form: that is the escape from form.

And how does a monk have three modes of investigation?
There is the case where a monk
(A) investigates in terms of properties,
(B) investigates in terms of sense spheres,
(C) investigates in terms of dependent co-arising.
This is how a monk has three modes of investigation.

I investigated using the dependent origination
(reference to Maha-nidana Sutta(DN15)):
When this is, that comes to be;
with the arising of this, that arises;
when this is not, that does not come to be;
with the cessation of this, that ceases

I am just thankful that I am able to learn and apply Buddha’s teachings.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s