Battling the Mind

Recently I noticed that I am recharged every time I listen to Dhamma talks while driving coz that is the only time I listen to one…. The mind is really a great wanderer and illusionist; always imagining what not and sometimes it can be quite depressing coz deep down I know they are only what I think and not what really is or are.

The next best thing to do, if not listening to Dhamma talks, will be meditation.  Although at times, the mind tries to lure away… somehow, it is able to stay put and be at peace… ahhhh… what a bliss!

This morning, I was reminded of the 7 factors of enlightenment and they are:

  1. Mindfulness (sati)
  2. Keen investigation of the dhamma (dhammavicaya)
  3. Energy (viriya)
  4. Rapture or happiness (piti)
  5. Calm (passaddhi)
  6. Concentration (samadhi)
  7. Equanimity (upekkha)

(Click here to read more.)

Not that I am already so successful spiritually, but am gauging and monitoring my own progress once in a while so that I will not get off track from the path.  I realised that I have some achievements in most of them except equanimity coz I still get excited and moody over certain events… lol!  And every time I noticed it, I have to remind myself to stay equanimous!

.

Google for the meaning and you will find that:

e·quan·i·mous

əˈkwänəməs/

adjective
calm and composed

.

To me, it is not just being calm and composed physically but also mentally coz I can get really all zealous and excited or just moody over some circumstances!  Ya, ya, maybe it can go unnoticed by others, but I know it is happening so, I must work harder on it… not to get myself mentally affected… gambate, Linda!

.

Not that I am aiming to be enlightened this lifetime, but it is no harm practising what the Buddha teaches, to at least be a stream entrant (Sotāpanna) as a goal.

 .

In the Maha-parinibbana Sutta (DN 16)

“… And the Blessed One addressed the bhikkhus,
saying:

“Behold now, bhikkhus, I exhort you:

All compounded things are subject to vanish.

Strive with earnestness!

This was the last word of the Tathagata…

.

.

And strive with earnestness, I shall try…..

Leave a Reply

